TheMomOfAllTrades

Mom of all trades- Master of very little

Worst blogger EVER… with a side of soup

on January 13, 2014

Yup, that me.  Worst blogger to ever grace the internet.  I started a blog, wrote a few posts (just enough to get a few people interested) and then I just disappeared.  I am so sorry.  I would like to tell you that I had an actual reason, but all I’ve got is life.  An overwhelming sense of being overwhelmed.  Poor reason, I know.  There are plenty of people who manage to raise children, cook, bake, volunteer and still find time to write fabulous blogs and connect with readers.  I am clearly not one of those Supermoms.  As evidenced by my complete lack of photo evidence of our vacation in August last year, I am terrible at living in the moment and documenting it for posterity.  This year, I resolve to work on that.  I will work on making a better effort to fitting more in and, if I am going to blog, making it a priority and actually doing it, although time is certainly not going to become easier to find (more on that in a minute).

When last I left you, we were looking forward to spring and all of the fun and craziness it brings. I was about 30 pounds and 3(ish) months into a 6 month competition to kick start a healthier and happier new life.  I was looking for a 5k to run with some friends and was staring down the barrel of running my very first 5k. Well, to bring you all up to date, by the time our competition finished in July, I had completed my first 5k (which would have been much easier if I had realized that the tires on my jogging stroller were mostly flat, prior to starting… duh), I was down 60 pounds and I won the prize money.  Oh, and I donated my hair (sooo much hair) to Locks of Love and had a fun new cut for summer, after years of keeping my hair ridiculously long.  I was looking forward to the Electric Run 5k that we had signed up for, but never made it, due to some complications in an unexpected side effect of my weight loss.  Apparently, when you work toward getting healthy, not only are obvious health issues remedied, but things that hadn’t been working quite right, due to extra pounds, start to work right again.  In June, we found out that we were going to make our already crowded happy home even more so.  We are currently 4 weeks from welcoming little Miss E!  The husband and big brothers H and L are super excited to meet her and I am so looking forward to all of the pink and flowers and frills that will soon be filling our days. 
image

Alright, now that I’ve gotten my excuses apologies out of the way, and we’ve sort of caught up, let’s get on with what you can expect.  I’ve been crocheting a lot of hats lately, for Miss E and the boys and also for friends and family.  Much of my crocheting is done like my cooking and baking, in that I have a general idea (or recipe or pattern) and then just sort of branch out and improvise from that starting point.  I’m going to start sharing some of these recipes and patterns with you, starting with a lightened up variation of a soup recipe from a cookbook of 400 different soup recipes that I received from my brother and sister-in-law for Christmas.  H picked out the soup that he wanted for dinner last night and we went from there.  Part of the reason that this soup got a lighter makeover may or may not be because I sent the husband to the grocery store and his attention to details, as they pertain to specific ingredients, isn’t always his top priority.  Oh well, he saved us all some calories and allowed us to feel like we were indulging in an incredibly decadent dish that wasn’t as bad for us as it tasted like it should be.

Asparagus Soup with Crab

image

2 tablespoons butter
3 to 3 1/2 pounds asparagus, woody ends removed, cut into 1 inch pieces
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder (or 2 cloves fresh garlic grated or crushed)
1/2 tablespoon onion powder (or 1/2 cup onion chopped)
6 1/2 cups low sodium, fat free chicken broth
2-3 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 cup light cream (can substitute milk to lighten up more)
6-7 ounces crab meat

In large pot, melt your butter and add asparagus, garlic and onion and seasoning. Cook for 3-5 minutes, until bright green but not browned.  Add chicken broth and bring to boil over medium high heat, simmer for 5-7 minutes longer (asparagus should be tender but still have a bit of snap).  Remove 1/4 to 1/3 cup of asparagus to use for garnish when serving.  Continue to simmer an additional 15-20 minutes or until all asparagus is soft tender. 

In batches, puree in blender (or food processor) until smooth and return to pot.  Bring back to simmer and combine water and cornstarch in a separate cup.  Whisk cornstarch mixture into soup and stir in cream. 

Ladle soup into bowls and garnish with a few ounces of crab meat and some of the reserved asparagus.  To brighten your soup up a bit, a little lemon juice can be drizzled prior to serving.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Worst blogger EVER… with a side of soup

  1. Leigh R. says:

    Amy, there’s no such thing as a bad blogger! I’m the same way. Your soup looked wonderful last night when I saw it online. Thanks for the recipie. I’m http://wifealamode.blogspot.com/ by the way. I added you!

    <3,

    Leigh

    • amyjo2301 says:

      Thanks, Leigh. It’s all about finding time, I suppose, just like anything else. You should definitely try the soup. It was delicious and perfect for a PA winter dinner.

Leave a Reply

