TheMomOfAllTrades

Mom of all trades- Master of very little

Totally losing it…

on February 26, 2013

Half of me, that is. Back in January 2011, the husband and I decided to place little wager to see who could lose more weight. Fast forward one month (I was leading, by the way) and we found out I was pregnant with L. After trying for over 3 years to have another baby after H, all thoughts of weight loss were gone and replaced with happiness and plans for our expanding family. Skip ahead two years and we have our two gorgeous, happy, healthy boys and a not so happy and healthy mama. That’s not to say that I hadn’t been keeping healthy things in the house or doing Zumba a few times a week over that time. I had and I was, but I let all of the things that I had to do (or felt like I had to do) trump what I NEED to do, which is to get myself in shape and be a healthy and strong example for my boys.

Forever after referred to as  "before" picture

Forever after referred to as “before” picture

So, last month, the husband and I resurrected our friendly bet and made plans to start again. While spending time with Jen, one of my best friends (and L’s supremely amazing godmother) on New Year’s day, I mentioned our rekindled attempt to get healthy that we’d be kicking off in a few days.  She said it sounded like something that her and her dad and sister might want to do and that she had done something similar, but on a bigger scale, at work.  The husband and I had originally said that we’d each put up $50 and the person who lost the most weight would get the money.  When Jen mentioned her interest, I dropped the amount to $25 and it just snowballed from there.  I posted about what we were doing on facebook and invited any friends or family who had a few (or more) pounds to lose to come and join us and Jen did the same.  Jen and I made some ground rules ( you know, no chopping off of limbs in order to take off a quick 15 pounds, stuff like that) and by the time we had our first official weigh-in, the following Monday, we had 21 people participating and a Grand Prize of $500.  Talk about extra motivation…

A little motivation

A little motivation

We’ve had three weigh-ins since then and as a group, we’ve lost over 150 pounds.  I have lost over 20 and am feeling better than I have in a long time.  That’s not to say that it’s not a challenge and that I haven’t had days where I struggle to make time for everything or that I don’t wish that I could eat what everyone else is eating when we’re not at home.  I would be lying if I said that I could do this all on my own.  Clearly if that were the case, I would have done this quite some time ago.  But it has been getting a little bit easier every day and in 4 1/2 months, when this ends, it will have been worth it.  You know the old saying “Charity begins at home”?  Well, so does change.  I made a commitment to myself that I am not willing to break and that, as well as getting healthy for my boys, is what has kept me going.  I WILL be going to the gym 4 days a week and I will be doing some combination of Bootcamp or Cardio Kickboxing and Zumba for 2 hours.  I WILL stay within a specific number of calories, while eating a well-balanced diet.  I WILL make sure that my children know the importance of being healthy and of feeling good about yourself.

My biggest motivation

My biggest motivation

I also have the support of the people who are in this competition with me.  Somewhere along the way, this group of people has morphed from my competition, to some of my strongest supporters.  After setting our rules and committing to do this, I started a group on facebook and there, we can celebrate out successes and seek encouragement or that extra push when we need it.  Some of us have posted about workouts or what we ate, to keep ourselves accountable and stay on target, and sometimes it’s just something we have seen that motivated us or that we think will help motivate others.  It’s not like the things you see on The Biggest Loser, with backbiting and alliances.  It’s just a bunch of people who needed a little extra push to make them work a little harder and stay on the path that they may have tried before but couldn’t quite stick with.  Some days, when I think I might not have what it takes, I think about them, and I decide that, while I may want an extra hour of sleep on Saturday morning or to have dinner or dessert that I know I shouldn’t have, I started this and I need to see it through to the end and to a healthier life.

Plus, $500 would be really nice to buy some new clothes when mine don’t fit anymore.

And now, for something you’ll really enjoy…

Crustless Spinach, Onion and Feta Quiche

Crustless Spinach, Onion and Feta Quiche

We tried this recipe a few days into our endeavor and everyone in our house LOVED it.  H cleared his plate and L ate all of his and then some of mine.  Rave reviews all around and it looks as good as it tastes, all while being relatively fast and easy.  Click the picture or here for the recipe from Spark People!  Enjoy!

3 responses to “Totally losing it…

  1. I’m so proud of you and to know you! Keep rockin, beautiful mama!!!!

  2. I’m so proud of you, and to know you. Keep rockin, mama!!!

Leave a Reply

