TheMomOfAllTrades

Mom of all trades- Master of very little

Keeping us in stitches…

on February 23, 2013

We’ve had quite a week here. Everything was going just swimmingly, when L decided that he was going to fight with a wrought iron shelf. He was not the victor and Thursday night, we took a trip to the Emergency Room, where he screamed like he was being murdered  charmed every one of the nurses got 5 stitches.  I was doing some dishes when he had his run-in with the big bad shelf and since I have definitely had my fair share of being a klutz injuries, I know that any wounds to the head or face are going to bleed… a lot.  Since we already had H in bed, we called my brother to come and sit with him while we took the tiny brute to get checked out.  At the hospital they must have asked 15 times to explain what happened and I kept telling them about the shelf shaking and subsequent bowl that bonked his little bean.  In 5 1/2 years of H’s “Watch this!” daredevil antics, we have never had to take a trip to the ER but in less that 18 months, L managed to damage himself beyond what Mommy could fix.  Fear not, for L was back to scaling chairs and tables the very next morning and hasn’t stopped since.  Ah, the joys of being a parent.

Enjoying dinner Friday, none the worse for his wear

Enjoying dinner Friday, none the worse for his wear

The rest of the week was relatively normal.  Applesauce, soup, a few projects, you know, the usual.  Since I am hard at work to take off the weight that I’ve put on over the past few years, I have been looking for ways to lighten up recipes that I really like.  While I definitely feel much better when I’m eating good things and working out, eating healthfully can be pretty boring and isolating sometimes.  I just can’t do steamed chicken or fish, brown rice and steamed veggies all the time.  I seem to have found a reserve of willpower that I’ve never before tapped into, but that is just too much.  I would have given up weeks ago if that is how I had to eat all of the time.  So, while my ways in the kitchen have definitely helped me put the weight on, now I am going to use them to help me take it off.  My mom, as of late, has been making a really good and very light Minestrone soup.  It has lots of veggies and a little bit of pasta.  A big crowd pleaser that I’m known for is my Spinach Tortellini Soup but tortellini are not exactly figure friendly.   This recipe is sort of a hybrid of those two.   One of the nice things about soup is that you can adjust, very easily, depending on tastes.  I like a lot of vegetables in mine but figured the kids may want a little more pasta, so I doubled the tiny alphabet pasta the other night.  Even with the extra pasta this soup is only 157 calories per serving!

Very Veggie Minestrone (serves 8)

004

Look at all of those delicious, bright vegetables

1 teaspoon oil

1 cup carrots, chopped

1 cup onions, diced

garlic, grated (to taste, I used about 3 cloves)

2 1/2 cups zucchini, sliced

1 large can diced tomatoes, low sodium or no salt added

6 cups chicken broth, low sodium

1 (14.5 ounce) can cannellini beans, well rinsed

10.5 ounce package baby spinach

2/3 cup small pasta (orzo, tiny alphabet, stars, ditallini)

Coat the bottom of a large pot with your oil.  Over medium heat, start your garlic, onions and carrots.  Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes.  Add zucchini and diced tomatoes and cook for another 5-10 minutes.  Add in your chicken broth, and cannellini beans and cook until your carrots are tender.  About 10 minutes before serving, throw in your spinach and pasta and continue to simmer until pasta are cooked and spinach has wilted.  Each serving has 157 calories, 1.3 grams of fat, 5.5 grams of fiber and 7.6 grams of protein.  For an extra 20 calories, serve with 1 tablespoon of Parmesan cheese.

I think tonight’s dinner will be some sort of soup with turkey sausage but inspiration hasn’t struck quite yet, but I’ll be sure to let you know what I come up with.  I hope you all have a great (and injury free) week!

2 responses to “Keeping us in stitches…

  1. I have been having the hardest time here lately coming up with things to cook. It’s like I’m in a rut or something. I am taking steps to kick a sugar addiction. I did not realize how much I cooked with that stuff. I bet that minestrone soup was good. Glad L is feeling better. They take a licking and keep on ticking!

    • amyjo2301 says:

      It’s amazing how resilient kids are. Equally amazing is that we are all still reasonably intelligent when we grow up, given how many times we all brained our damage. 😉 Thank you, L is back to his usual antics (and then some).

      Dinner is a tough one for me, especially in trying to stay between 1200-1250 calories a day. Since it’s been so cold lately, I’ve been doing a lot of soup. I’m going to be doing a lot of experimenting in the next little while to lighten up some recipes that I love or things that look good but wouldn’t be good for our waistlines. I made a lightened up Alfredo dish at my mom’s the other night and after a little more tweaking, I’ll be sure to share it.

      Thanks for checking out my stuff and definitely try the Minestrone. It was light but satisfying and delicious. It will warm you and yours right up.

Leave a Reply

